Stricter Japan Quarantine to End for Travelers from California and Two US States, Amidst Numerous Changes Every Week

Mayer Brown

Effective June 14, travelers from California, Oakland, Nebraska and a few countries are no longer subject to the previously discussed stricter quarantine measures.  On the other hand, also effective June 14, travelers from Washington, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi and certain other countries will be subject to such stricter quarantine measures.  Japan is in a fluid state and is updating the quarantine measures for travelers coming into the country on an almost daily basis based on the infection rates of US states and countries.  Such measures are all a result of ongoing fluctuations in COVID variant infection rates globally.

For further details, please refer to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare website for up-to-date information regarding the entry restrictions and quarantine measures.  Visa restrictions and entry restrictions will continue to apply for the foreseeable future.